When you copy another user's pie, the copy you create will now be linked to the original pie. This means that you will receive a notification whenever the owner of the original pie makes changes to its slices.
You will see this notification along with your other social notifications, accessible by clicking the 'bell' icon. By tapping on the notification, you can view an overview of both your pie and the original pie, and you will have the option to review the update.
If you select View Update, you will be presented with a screen that provides details about the current state of the original pie's slices. Here, you can preview the changes made by the owner. It's up to you whether you want to apply these changes to your pie, along with any additional modifications you may desire. Alternatively, you can simply ignore the update if you are not satisfied with it.
To access additional options related to your linked pie, you can return to the overview and tap on the 'Options' button. From there, you have the ability to enable or disable notifications for updates or permanently unlink your pie from the original.
The overview dialogue can also be accessed from the Holdings section of your pie. Even if you have temporarily disabled notifications, you can still check for new updates there whenever you wish.
To do so, go to the Portfolio tab, select your pie, and then tap on Holdings, located in the top part of the screen.
Q: I already have a copied pie. Do I need to copy again in order to have a link to the original?
A: We’ve done our best to automatically link already copied pies. If your copy was made from the start of February onwards, it should be automatically linked. To check if a link exists, simply go to the Holdings section of your pie. If you see a ‘Linked to’ tile in the top part of the screen, everything is working fine and you should receive a notification the next time the owner updates their pie. Otherwise, you will, unfortunately, need to recopy the original pie.
Q: What is the difference between ‘unlinking’ and simply disabling update notifications?
A: The former is a permanent action, while the latter is a temporary, reversible one.
Q: Can I share a pie I’ve copied and is it possible for another user to then copy my copy?
A: Yes! This ‘link chaining’ may happen an infinite number of times. Additionally, the fact that your shared pie is linked to another will be visible to anyone who views your shared pie (e.g. from the Library or a link). They may then view the original pie, which might be linked to a totally different pie itself, etc. We feel visualising this information publicly is fair to the community.
Q: What happens if the original pie’s owner stops sharing, or deletes their pie?
A: You will no longer receive notifications and if you open the overview dialogue from the Holdings section of your pie, you will have the option to unlink.